Serena Williams will begin her bid to land an eighth title against Aliaksandra Sasnovich at Wimbledon next week.

With reigning champion Simona Halep a very late withdrawal, world No. 1 Ash Barty, who has also been plagued with injury, will begin against Spain’s Carla Suarez Navarro.

British No.1 Johanna Konta will start her campaign against Katerina Siniakova in the first round and could meet Barty in round three.

Former world No. 1 Victoria Azarenka meets Kateryna Kozlova, and former French Open champion Jelena Ostapenko takes on Leyla Fernandez.

Wildcard and five-time champion Venus Williams will take on Mihaela Buzarnescu.

Coco Gauff starts against Britain’s Fran Jones – and could could meet Angelique Kerber in the last 16, while Bianca Andreescu plays Alize Cornet.

Brit Heather Watson is in the bottom half of the draw and will face a qualifier in round one but will meet either Petra Kvitova or Sloane Stephens in the second round.

Harriet Dart will take on Belgian 13th seed Elise Mertens and Katie Boulter also faces a qualifier.


Barty (1) vs Suarez Navarro
Andreescu (5) vs Cornet
S. Williams (6) vs Sasnovich
Kvitova (10) vs Stephens
Swiatek (7) vs Hsieh
Buzarnescu vs V.Williams

Ladies’ Singles – Projected Quarter-finals
Barty (1) vs Andreescu (5)
Svitolina (3) vs S.Williams (6)
Kenin (4) vs Ka. Pliskova (8)
Sabalenka (2) vs Swiatek (7)

The women’s singles final will be played on Saturday, July 10.

The total prize money for The Championships in 2021 will be £35,016,000. The singles champion will win £1,700,000, which is approximately $2.4 million.

Winner: £1,700,000
Finalist: £900,000
Semifinalist: £465,000
Quarterfinalist: £300,000
Fourth Round: £181,000
Third Round: £115,0000
Second Round: £75,000
First Round: £48,000