The ITF made the draw for the 2022 Davis Cup in Madrid today, ahead of the 2021 final between Croatia and Russian Tennis Federation.

Novak Djokovic’s Serbia and Leon Smith’s Great Britain have been granted the two wild card nations.

Both countries have benefitted from wildcards before: Serbia this year, and Great Britain in 2019.

Today’s finalists, Croatia and the Russian Tennis Federation have secured automatic qualification for the 2022 Finals.

Britain’s 2021 campaign came to a disappointing end earlier this week with a 2-1 defeat to Germany in the quarter-finals in Innsbruck, after squandering four set points in the first set tie-break and letting slip a 5-0 lead in the second.

Next year’s Finals will be contested by 16 teams over 12 days, and may conclude in Abu Dhabi.

A proposed  five-year deal with the Middle Eastern state and ITF’s Investment partners  Kosmos  has yet to be rubber stamped.

The World Group I Play-offs and World Group II Play-offs were also held on Sunday.

The Qualifiers, World Group I Play-offs and World Group II Play-offs will take place on 4-5 March – a total of 36 ties to be played on a home-and-away basis in 36 cities around the world.

The 12 winning nations from the 2022 Qualifiers will advance to Finals, where they will join Croatia, Russian Tennis Federation, Great Britain and Serbia in a 16-nation line-up.

The 12 losing nations from the Qualifiers will compete in the 2022 World Group I ties in September.