Russia will be replaced by Serbia in the Davis Cup finals and by Australia in the Billie Jean Cup, the International Tennis Federation announced on Monday.

Serbia were chosen to take part in the Davis Cup finals in September because they were the highest-ranked losing semi-finalist in 2021.

That wild card will now pass to another country, chosen from the 12 losing nations from the 2022 qualifiers. Russia beat Croatia to win the Davis Cup title in December.

The group stage of the finals will take place across four cities in September before the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final are hosted at a fifth city in November. Those venues have yet to be announced.

The BJK Cup qualifier between Australia and Slovakia scheduled for April 15 will not now be played and Slovakia has received a bye and will advance directly to the finals.